UNITED CHURCH TRAINING SCHOOL in affiliation with EMMANUEL COLLEGE IN VICTORIA UNIVERSITY THIRTY-FIRST ANNUAL CONVOCATION and GRADUATION SERVICE CLOSING THE SESSION 1955-56 TUESDAY, MAY EIGHTH

NINETEEN HUNDRED AND FIFTY-SIX

AT EIGHT O'CLOCK, P.M.

SAINT ANDREW'S UNITED CHURCH

TORONTO

Order of Service

The Chairman of the Board presiding

cessional Hymn 9

e Lesson The Rev. W. Morrison Kelly, M.A., B.D., S.T.M.

yers

hem

tement by the Chairman of the Board The Rev. J. Lavell Smith, B.A., B.D., D.D.

ort of the Session by the Principal Miss K. Harriet Christie, B.A., B.D.

entation of Scholarships and Prizes Miss Katharine B. Hockin, M.A., Ed.D.

entation of Students of the First Year

Eli 2 ibeth Mary Colwell, B.A. The Ima Olmstead Conway Mar garet Lorenza Dempsey Jean Iris Derbyshire Leafa & Hope Drew Gusen nnith Margaret Grieve Joan I Frances Leslie Marg garet Elizabeth McColgan Marg/ Catherine Morrison

Mary Aphagan Naimool Wurgifred Grace Elizabeth Pulleyblank, B.A. Calgary, Alberta Parence Louise Ward Marion Laurena Woods, B.A. Sarnia, Ontario

entation of Occasional Students

Jean Loh, B.A. Sun Hi Moon, B.D. Janie Mary Noftle Vancouver, British Columbia Ottawa, Ontario Port Stanley, Ontario Westport, Ontario Moscow, Ontario Shoal Lake, Manitoba Stratford, Ontario Lancaster, New Brunswick Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island San Fernando, Trinidad Calgary, Alberta Chatham, Ontario Sarnia, Ontario

Macao, China Seoul, Korea Broad Cove, Newfoundland

ents Under Appointment After One Year of Training

Eileen Margaret Connolly, Reg. N.

Winnipeg, Manitoba Hollenquist, Saskatchewan

Award of Diplomas

Lois Mabel Boast, B.A., Reg. N. Marion Mary Gemmel Boyd, B.A. Phyllis Jean Campbell Marjorie Joan Cheesman Lily Chin Frances Mary Oldford Clarke Geraldine Gladys Dearing Vera Annette Enticknap Alma Betty Gomez Nancy Ann Holman, B.A. Shirley Margaret Johnston, B.Sc. Winona Bertha McGill Hazelle Inez McManus Shirley Elizabeth Munro, B.Sc.(Pharm.) Bernice Mona Sinanan Pauline Topp

Richmond, Quebec Toronto, Ontario Toronto, Ontario Toronto, Ontario Hillcrest, Alberta Chatham, Ontario Mindemoya, Ontario Kincaid, Saskatchewan Vancouver, B.C. Kamloops, B.C. Winnipeg, Manitoba Northfield Station, Ontario Owen Sound, Ontario Leduc, Alberta Claxton Bay, Trinidad McAuley, Manitoba

The Rev. John Line, M.A., S.T.D., D.D.

Prayer of Dedication

Statement by Miss Nancy Holman, B.A. President of the Class

Statement by Miss Po Hi Pak, B.A., B.S.W. Overseas Student

Hymn 377

Address to the Graduating Class

Hymn 389

Benediction

SCHOLARSHIPS AND PRIZES Awarded During the Session

The Martha Rutherford Beatty Scholarships Frances M. O. Clarke Nancy A. Holman, B.A. Marion L. Woods, B.A.

The Emily Ewart Steele Scholarship Marion M. G. Boyd, B.A.

The Margaret T. Haig of Winnipeg Bursary Thelma O. Conway

> The Kaufman Scholarship for Study Abroad Eleanor B. Gamble, B.A.

SCHOLAR! AND PRIZES

The Principal Richard Davidson Memorial Prize in Old Testament (II year) Shirley M. Johnston, B.Sc. The Mrs. I. B. Walwyn Prize in New Testament (II year) Given by the Timothy Eaton Memorial Church Missionary Club Nancy A. Holman, B.A. The Fireside Unit of the W.A. of Kingsway-Lambton Church Prize in Old Testament and New Testament (I year) Marion L. Woods, B.A. The St. Paul's Avenue Road W.A. Scholarship in the Bible and Christian Doctrine (II year) Shirley M. Johnston, B.Sc. The Jean M. Hutchinson Prize in New Testament and Christian Education (II year) Nancy A. Holman, B.A. The Alumnae Prize in Christian Education (I year) Marion L. Woods, B.A. The Lucas Scholarship in Christian Education (II year) Nancy A. Holman, B.A. The Edward Wilson Wallace Prize in Church History (II year) Shirley M. Johnston, B.Sc. The St. Andrew's W.A. Award Thelma O. Conway The Mary Jane Maddocks Scholarship (II year) Shirley M. Johnston, B.Sc. The Emily A. Galloway Prize Eileen M. Connolly, Reg.N. The Alumnae Scholarship (I year) Marion L. Woods, B.A. The Anna Hilliard Scholarship (I year) Marion L. Woods, B.A. The Henrietta Cooke Jewitt Scholarship (II year) Given by the Brantford Presbytery Woman's Association Nancy A. Holman, B.A. The St. George's United Church Evening Auxiliary Prize Bernice M. Sinanan The Kingsway-Lambton W.A. Prize in Christian Doctrine Lois M. Boast, B.A., Reg.N. The Gertrude Boyle Prize for research project

Lily Chin