## COVENANT COLLEGE

in affiliation with

EMMANUEL COLLEGE IN VICTORIA UNIVERSITY

## THIRTY-EIGHT

# ANNUAL CONVOCATION

and

**G**RADUATION SERVICE

CLOSING THE SESSION 1962-63

TUESDAY, MAY FOURTEENTH

NINETEEN HUNDRED AND SIXTY-THREE

AT EIGHT O'CLOCK P.M.

## DEER PARK UNITED CHURCH

TORONTO

Order of Service

The Chairman of the Board presiding

**4** 

Processional Hymn 17

The Lesson and Prayers

The Rev. John M. Wilkie, M.A., B.D.

Choir

Statement by the Chairman of the Board The Rev. J. Scott Leith, B.A., B.D., D.D.

Report of the Session by the Principal The Rev. K. Harriet Christie, B.A., B.D.

## Presentation of Scholarships

## Presentation of Students in the First Year

Ethel Jean Collier, B.A. Emily Florence Cosman Laura Jeanne Fielder Joan Alice Grenkie Sheila Grace Finson, B.A. Violet Elaine Hartry, Reg.N. Carol James Mardele Ann Lewis, B.A. Margaret E. M. Lowes, B.A. Doris Elaine Peacock, B.P.Ed. Vera Doreen Pitt Elsie Olga Prozeniuk Helen Kay Stewart Mary Ellen Suter Jean Marilyn Tough, Reg.N. Nina Blanche Whalen

Winnipeg, Manitoba East Saint John, New Brunswick Coboconk, Ontario Landis, Saskatchewan Kitchener, Ontario Calgary, Alberta Pickering, Ontario Watson, Saskatchewan Cavan, Ontario Edmonton, Alberta Bermuda Calgary, Alberta Galt, Ontario Hamilton, Ontario Toronto, Ontario St. John's, Newfoundland

Students under Appointment After One Year of Training

Aileen Margaret Covlin (Mrs.) Midori Iwakura, B.A. (Mrs.) Hazel Nowlan (Mrs.) Catherine Muir Patchett

## **Occasional Students**

(Mrs.) Evelyn Celistia Beveridge Mary Sylvia Goldring, B.A. Crichton, Saskatchewan Tokyo, Japan Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Parry Sound, Ontario

Edmonton, Alberta Ridgeville, Ontario

## Award of Diplomas

Norma Joyce Combe, B.Sc. Phm., B.R.E. Barbara Matthews Copp, B.A., B.Ed., B.R.E. Anne Robina Dow Eleanor Ethel Ferguson, B.A. Audrey Lavina Fisher, Reg.N. Ruth Eileen Honegger, Reg.N. Marion Louise Honsberger Eleanor Joyce McDougall Isabel Elma Rourke, B.A., A.R.C.T., B.R.E.

Ella Schell, B.A., B.L.S., B.R.E.

## **Prayer of Dedication**

Statement by Miss Eleanor McDougall

Hymn 377

Address to the Graduating Class Miss Lillian D. Anthony, B.A., M.R.E. Hymn 44

**Benediction** 

## BURSARIES

#### Awarded during the Session

- The Martha Rutherford Beatty Scholarships
- Emily Cosman–Anne Dow–Eleanor Ferguson–Mardele Lewis– Jean Tough
- The Hamilton Presbytery Woman's Association Bursary Mary Ellen Suter
- The Mrs. John T. Haig of Winnipeg Bursary E. Jean Collier
- The Mrs. George A. Brown of Kingston Bursary Carol James
- The Deer Park United Church Women Bursary Helen Stewart
- The St. Andrew's Wesley United Church Women–Vancouver Elaine Hartry

### AWARDS, PRIZES, AND SCHOLARSHIPS

#### First Year

The Anne Hilliard Scholarship

Jean Collier

- The Henrietta Cooke Jewitt Scholarship for General Proficiency Joan Grenkie
- The Alumnae Award
- Elaine Hartry The Alumnae Award in Christian Education

Joan Grenkie

The Margaret Brown of Kingsway-Lambton Award in Old New Testament

Jean Collier

Niagara Falls, Ontario

Moncton, New Brunswick Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia Edmonton, Alberta Gainsborough, Saskatchewan Lansing, Ontario Jordan Station, Ontario Nobleton, Ontario

Nipawin, Saskatchewan Norwich, Ontario The Jean M. Hutchinson Award in Christian Education and Synoptic Gospels

Joan Grenkie

- The John Line Award in Systematic Theology Mardele Lewis
- The Blanche Peterson Memorial Book Prize in Religious Knowledge Jean Tough
- The St. George's United Church Women Award in Church History Joan Grenkie-Carol James
- The Winnifred Thomas Award in Christian Missions Jean Collier

### Second Year

- The Isobel Lothian Award for Highest Standing Anne Dow
- The Mrs. I. B. Walwyn of Timothy Eaton Memorial Church Award Barbara Copp
- The Gertrude Boyle Book Award for use of the Library Isabel Rourke
- The Ellen Bloor Chown Award in relation to Oriental or Indian Work Ruth Honegger
- The Principal Richard Davidson Memorial Book Award in Old Testament Isabel Rourke
- The Kingsway-Lambton United Church Women Award in Christian Doctrine

Marion Honsberger

The Lucas Scholarship in Christian Education and Field Work Ruth Honegger

- The St. James-Bond United Church Women Award for special achievement
  - Eleanor MacDougall
- The Dr. and Mrs. A. D. Matheson Award in Pastoral Theology Anne Dow
- The MacPherson Prize in Field Work over two years Barbara Copp—Anne Dow
- The Emily Ewart Steele Award in relation to Overseas Work Barbara Copp
- The St. Paul's-Avenue Road United Church Women Award in Bible and Christian Education
  - Barbara Copp-Marion Honsberger
- The W. Harold Young Award for proficiency in course on Worship Audrey Fisher

#### Nurses

The Emily Galloway Award

No Award

The Dr. F. N. G. Starr Scholarship for Medical Workers Joyce Combe-Audrey Fisher-Ruth Honegger

## **Travelling Scholarship**

The Kaufman Scholarship The Rev. Kathleen Christopher, B.A., B.D.